Player of the Year is Connolly

LIAM Connolly celebrated a fantastic year on the golf course when he finished ‘Player of the Year’ to win the Harry Adamson Trophy.

Our captain Eugene Murphy celebrated a successful 12 months when he presented the trophies and awards at the Society’s Annual Presentational Dinner at Ruddington Grange Golf Club.

Connolly kick started his year when he won the Irish Tour to his home place in Monaghan to lift the McCann Trophy back in April. He then added the Past Captains’ Trophy, the Bundoran Cup, to his tally.

He was pushed all the way by Dave Shiggins and Paul Furey.  Shiggins won the singles knock-out competition, the Copper Cable Trophy and the ‘Champions of Champions’ trophy, the Belfry Bowl.

Furey won the Winter Stableford competition, the Silverdale Cup, and then added the John Friel Cup to his trophy haul.

Joe Shallow took the first big competition of the season, the St Patrick’s Day Challenge Trophy and then along with Dave Bennett and Derek Duffy finished the top team on the Captain’s Away Weekend at Greetham Valley to win the Glens of Antrim Shield. 

Ian Papworth won the Comerford Cup, Dave Fox finished top man on Captain’s Day to win the Allied Irish Bowl, Patsy Greaney was our only lady winner this season when she won the Liam White Memorial Cup.

The Auld Luscaire Trophy went to Brian Wills, the Wexford Bowl to John Boyle while Peter Keogh won the Tony Keane Memorial Trophy.

Joel Gavigan and Paul Collindridge won the pairs knock-out and the Donegal Cup in a hard-fought final while Mark Green was presented with the Alec Goodburn Trophy by Captain Murphy for his efforts on behalf of the Society throughout the year.

Padraic’s Award for Tully

DENIS Tully’s work at Emmanuel House was recognised when he was the recipient of the Padraic Sweeney Award for his services to the homeless people of Nottingham.

Tully, who is the Chief Executive Officer of the charity took the top award at the Nottingham Irish Golf Society’s presentation night at Ruddington Grange Golf Club where he was presented with a cheque for £1000 for the Emmanuel House charity.

“Denis only took over four years ago,” said fund chairman Willie Tunney. “And he has already made a huge difference to the charity. You’ve got to be a real optimist to take on a challenge like that but he has already proved he is well up for it.”

A surprised Tully said: “I thought I was just coming along for a cheque presentation so this is a huge surprise. It’s nice to be recognised and when I see the names on the trophy I’m delighted to be following in their footsteps.”

Tully came to this country from Dublin in 1978 and began his career as a youth worker and later joined the Parent Partnership Sevice. He ran a Surestart Centre for a number of years before taking over at Emmanuel House.

Since taking over he has built up the charity establishing much greater financial security, developing a secure structure, turning the Charity Shop around and building a strong public profile. Emmanuel  House  is now in the strongest position it has ever been, under ever-increasing pressures.

The Charity doesn’t get any financial help from national and local government and relies solely on donations from the public and companies but that could be about to change. “The powers-that-be have been impressed with the changes and improvement we have made,” said Tully. “And we may well be getting some grants in the future. 

“We have a staff of 40 and we are looking at employing another nine. We also have about 200 volunteers so we are grateful for all the help we can get from the public.”

Tully is a gifted musician and plays numerous instruments, is a soloist in a Gospel Choir, a qualified life coach and a former youth coach and trainer and group leader.

He said: “The number of homless people is growing and we have to be ready for the challenge ahead.”.


Boyle on top at Ormonde Fields

JOHN Boyle carded 38 points to win our event at Ormonde Fields.

He pipped  Dave Shiggins, who won Division 1, by a point, Olly Di Marino shot 33 points to take the Division 2 prize while our past president John Gregory compiled 32 points to win Division 3 


Our next golf day is at Ormonde Fields on Friday afternoon July 5. Past members and guests welcome.

Our next meeting re Ormonde Fields is on Wednesday June 26 at 8pm at Ruddington Grange. Everyone is welcome

For more details contact our captain Eugene (07785 756400) or our chairman Eamonn on 07810 638174

Papworth victorious at the Park

IAN PAPWORTH pipped a field of 38 players to win President’s Day Trophy at Oakmere Park.

Papworth carded 34 points to beat Patsy Greaney on a countback. Greaney won Division 3, Kieran Gaughan Division 2 with 31 points and Ian Shaw Division 1 with 30 points.

Brian Wills won the Auld Swingers Trophy with 39 points (26 + 13)

Margaret Gallagher won the nearest the pin prize on the 2nd while Liam Connolly took the prize on the 8th.

Tom McCann won the Guests’ prize with 29 points.

Classy Connolly battles to victory

Another successful Irish tour though five members fancied a detour and arrived six hours later than the main party.

Staying at the Nuremore Hotel in County Monaghan, the Society played Nuremore on Monday, Concra Wood on Tuesday and Dundalk on the Wednesday before finishing the four-day competition back at Nuremore on the Thursday.

The competition was dominated by Liam Connolly and Dave Bennett with Connolly coming out on top over the last 18 holes

Padraic’s Day

Forty six teams battled their way round Ruddington Grange Golf Club in the McCann The home team of Andy Stevenson, Steve Rooke, John Woolley and Richard Varley were the second team out and their score of 94 points stood all day.

One point behind were the fourball of M Altaf, M Afzal, T Latif and S Diega with the Sheffield team of Tom Murray, P Anstey, D Thompson and P Moore snatching third place after a countback on 90 points 

The McCann team of Adrian Cronin, P J Sweeney, Tom McCann and Dean Cuthbert won the prize for the best Society score with 86 points.

Nearest the pin prizes went to John Carolan (12th hole) and Steve Rooke (18th hole).

Liam Devanney won the main prize in the raffle, a £200 voucher for Waltons Hotel on Derby Road Nottingham

Next Meeting

The Society’s next meeting will take place at Ruddington Grange Golf Club on Wednesday April 24th at 8pm.

On the Agenda will be the Irish Tour which leaves for Monaghan on Sunday April 28th

The captain will also be taking names for our next fixture which is at Stoke Rochford on Friday May 10th, first teetime 2.30pm

The meeting be preceded by a Mini Meeting at 7.30pm


Patsy Greaney won the Dave Bennett/Paul Furey sponsored Liam White Trophy at Norwood Park

Greaney, who was presented with her prize by our captain, Eugene Murphy, shot 39 points to beat 34 others to lift the main prize on a day when conditions fluctuated between warm and very cold.

Scoring was difficult on the extremely fast greens but John Carolan managed 36 points to win Division One. Ian Papworth took the award for Division Two and Chris Owens won the Division Three prize.

Former captain dies

Kevan Murphy, our captain in 2003 has died following a short illness.

During his captaincy year he suffered a stroke which curtailed his duties and, soon after, his wife decided to move back to her former home place in Blackburn to be close to her own family.

Kevan was one of the founder members of the Society back in 1991 and was secretary between 2000-2001. In 2010 he was made an honorary life member of the Society.

He passed away on March 28th and his funeral will be on May 3. More details regarding the time will follow.

Our condolences go to Lynda and immediate family.

Rest in Peace Kevan