Next Meeting

The Society’s next meeting will take place at Ruddington Grange Golf Club on Wednesday April 24th at 8pm.

On the Agenda will be the Irish Tour which leaves for Monaghan on Sunday April 28th

The captain will also be taking names for our next fixture which is at Stoke Rochford on Friday May 10th, first teetime 2.30pm

The meeting be preceded by a Mini Meeting at 7.30pm


Patsy Greaney won the Dave Bennett/Paul Furey sponsored Liam White Trophy at Norwood Park

Greaney, who was presented with her prize by our captain, Eugene Murphy, shot 39 points to beat 34 others to lift the main prize on a day when conditions fluctuated between warm and very cold.

Scoring was difficult on the extremely fast greens but John Carolan managed 36 points to win Division One. Ian Papworth took the award for Division Two and Chris Owens won the Division Three prize.

Former captain dies

Kevan Murphy, our captain in 2003 has died following a short illness.

During his captaincy year he suffered a stroke which curtailed his duties and, soon after, his wife decided to move back to her former home place in Blackburn to be close to her own family.

Kevan was one of the founder members of the Society back in 1991 and was secretary between 2000-2001. In 2010 he was made an honorary life member of the Society.

He passed away on March 28th and his funeral will be on May 3. More details regarding the time will follow.

Our condolences go to Lynda and immediate family.

Rest in Peace Kevan


St Patrick’s Day Trophy

JOE Shallow finished top of the class in the Society’s competition, which was sponsored by Rayden Engineering, at Ruddington Grange where 64 members and their guests were entertained by our captain Eugene Murphy.

Shallow battled to 32 points in the cold windy conditions to take the trophy and £60 voucher for first prize.

Eamonn Gavigan won Division 1 with 31 points, John Carolan Division 2 with the same score and Margaret Gallagher Division 3 with 30 points 

Ian Lockwood won the guests’ prize with a score of 34 points.

The prizes were presented by our captain Eugene Murphy and the sponsor Richard Hayden

St Patrick’s Day Open

The Erewash Valley pairing of R Summerfield and S Hallam battled their way to victory in the St Patrick’s Day Open at Ruddington Grange.

They carded 43 points in the tough conditions to pip Nick Harvey and Andrew Kavanagh by one point. The Ruddington pair, C Adkin and P Russell, finished third on a countback.

The nearest the pin prizes was won by M Hoskins (12th) and W Tunney (18th).